I Am Stanford: Danna

A picture of my family during NSO because - We are Stanford :) PS: I don’t have orange hair anymore

Buenas buenas gente! Bienvenidos a Estanford!!!

My name is Danna Chacon (she, her, ella), and I am currently a student staff member and one of the NSO Community Coordinators at El Centro Chicano y Latino. It is so wild how just a year ago I was in the same shoes as y’all and now I am here representing a place at Stanford that has become a new home for me!

For starters, I can completely understand the uncertainty of coming to a brand new place, leaving your hometown, and even childhood behind to come to college. For me I moved all the way from the East Coast, Elizabeth, New Jersey, leaving my mom and brother. This was the very first time we would be separated ever since we migrated from my home country Bogota, Colombia. They are the only family I have here in the States which made the transition harder.

Even though I was so thrilled to go to college, thoughts of homesickness, impostor syndrome, and loneliness dwelled on my mind. I was intimidated by the prestige, the academics, the people, everything, even before getting here. It is important to not close ourselves up though before giving it a fair shot because in this place there are an overwhelming amount of ways that you can feel belonging. And for me it was entering the doors of El Centro.

I am someone who lived around the Latine culture my entire life, it shaped the way I am and how I see the world. I was surprised to see what I saw back home here at Stanford through El Centro’s signature events just as NSO’s Welcome Festival, all-year long biweekly Cafecitos, Latine identity workshops, book talks, Sunday’s study nights, and simply the fresh air you get once you enter a space that looks like your abuelita’s living room! Imagine walking with your family and friends towards the sound of some Salsita, Reggaeton, and bachata while eating some pan dulce, empanadas, burritos along with some cafe, chocolate caliente, or horchata, and so much more! This is the experience I got while being at El Centro.

At El Centro I’ve met some of my most dear friends who I share so many identities and experiences with that allowed me to see we are all on this journey together. For many of us, we were the first to attend college in our families, let alone a place like Stanford. Here we were able to joke around about the ways our families would be with us, while exchanging sayings, and words in Spanish. It warms my heart knowing that even though I am so far away from my home, I can still have an essence of it here in this space.

One of my favorite memories of my first year and working at El Centro was our February Cafecito collab with Hermanas de Stanford called “Chicacito.” That day we had such a big turnout, I was assigned to give our guest Centro-themed tote bags. I got a chance to say hi to so many people not only from the Latine community but also from so many other countries and ethnic communities here at Stanford. Later that day I realized I had lost my voice.

From that day I understood why community centers exist. There are spaces that keep students, staff, and faculty connected beyond academics. Regardless of whether you or your family come from Latin America, I encourage you to come and pay us a visit here at El Centro. As student staff, I am committed to promote respect and dignity for our community within Stanford and beyond as well as teaching the broader Stanford demographic about how rich and diverse our Latin American culture can be!

Some of my biggest recommendations for your first year would be to take as much advantage of the resources community centers have to offer. Every center has their own version of tutors, mentors, professional development workshops, programs, and activities that will set you up for success in your first year at Stanford and beyond. Something that you may be aware of is the network that places like Stanford attract. Community centers are a hub to making connections that not only would put you ahead in your career, but can foster friendships that may become your new support system and home.

I also wanna preface that during NSO, even during your first year it’s okay if you don’t attend or participate in all of the events or activities that we have for you. Make sure to be kind to yourselves, and take a break wherever needed. You will have many more opportunities to experience Stanford in the upcoming months, quarters, and career at Stanford. So take care of yourselves!

Can’t wait to meet you all at NSO.

Danna Chacon
dannach@stanford.edu
Class of 2026

Published by approachingstanford

Just a bunch of fun Orientation Coordinator friends doing Orientation Coordinating things.

Leave a comment