Mental Health and Wellness

In the hallowed halls of academic excellence, where success is pursued fervently and accomplishments are celebrated, it’s imperative that we shine a light on an often underestimated facet of students’ lives: our mental well-being. Hello again! I am Omotolani Azeez; a rising sophomore looking to major in Symbolic Systems and Communication. I am your Orientation Coordinator (OC) in charge of Orientation Volunteers (OVs) and today we would be talking about mental health at Stanford University. 

Some of the best websites to find mental health support on campus are our Bridge Peer Counseling Center, Student Affairs, Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS), and Vaden Health Center. In a place that glorifies productivity, achievement, and imposter syndrome, we often forget that our minds require just as much care and attention as our bodies. Just as we exercise, eat well, and sleep to maintain physical health, tending to our mental health is equally essential. It’s the foundation upon which our happiness, resilience, and ability to navigate life’s challenges are built. 

While juggling adjusting to a new environment, academics, and social life at Stanford, I found it hard to make time to check in with myself to see how my mind and body are dealing with this new change. I spent a lot of time stressing about the things that I had to get done which would then lead to me feeling worn out and then I actually can’t get work done. I never gave myself the time to understand how different everything was for me. I got so used to going to school early, having designated classes and designated time assigned to me from elementary school to high school but now in college, I have to unlearn that cycle because of the control you now have over your time. It can be overwhelming, so being intentional about giving yourself grace to fall into a new routine is very essential. While giving yourself grace, keep in mind that we all come from different backgrounds and have different needs, which are all valid. 

It is easy to fall into the pattern of feeling like an imposter or finding yourself as another victim of the commonly seen ‘Duck Syndrome’. Imposter Syndrome is the feeling that you don’t belong in a space and that you’re not good enough. Duck syndrome is when college students appear calm but in all reality they are stressed and or having extreme challenges keeping up with the work they have. Seeing people appear as if they have everything under control can pressure you into feeling like an imposter or that you are also supposed to act like you have things under control as well. 

When you start feeling any of the aforementioned syndromes or mental issues in general, acknowledge those feelings and then take steps to counter those feelings. For me, when I need to take a break I walk to Meyer Green and read one of my fantasy favorite books or I’ll take my speaker and head to one of the dance rooms in AOERC to dance it off. I also tried new things like meditation which I have grown to love. Overall, it is important to know when you need those breaks and not push yourself to be fine when you’re not. Productivity is enhanced when you are mentally and physically healthy!

Published by approachingstanford

Just a bunch of fun Orientation Coordinator friends doing Orientation Coordinating things.

Leave a comment