I Am Stanford: Antonio

Me during a very long 10 hour hike at my dorm's trip to Yosemite (For perspective, I'm not an avid hiker...but it was fun!)

Lios enchim aniavu. Ketchem allea? (A greeting in my people’s language, Yaqui).
First off, congratulations Class of 2027!!! We are extremely excited to welcome you to this amazing and beautiful campus.


My name is Antonio Vega (he/him), the community coordinator for the Native American Cultural Center (NACC). I was born and raised in Tucson, Arizona, and words cannot express how much I love my home. It has everything I love: my family, my community, and beautiful landscapes (yes, I know Arizona is a literal desert, but fun fact: the Sonoran Desert is the most biodiverse desert in the world). From the frybread to the chile con carne to the taqueria stands on the side of the road, my heart (and stomach) lay deeply in Tucson. As you might guess, leaving a place I loved so much was difficult, and I knew it would be.


Like many of you, the months before leaving were hard, knowing that I would be away from my family, friends, and culture. To add more stress, I knew no one before going to Stanford. I had not even visited the campus before, not even for admit weekend. I felt completely lost, wondering how to prepare for college, let alone a place known for high achievers. To say it was overwhelming would be an understatement. However, something in me told me to keep going. And so, I listened, and soon my fears of being alone faded away as I got to campus.


I participated in a preorientation program for indigenous students, called the Stanford Native Immersion Program (SNIP), which was one of the best decisions of my life. The countless fears and anxieties I had on my way to Stanford were immediately wiped away as I was welcomed by the (NACC) staff and the breathtaking views of campus. Over the next few days, I was introduced to the vast resources on campus, the vibrant native community at Stanford, and most importantly the incredible group of other freshmen, many who became some of my closest friends. The bonds that were created through SNIP comforted me knowing how much support was on this campus. As the year progressed, I made my home away from home in the native community, whether it be through the weekly powwow committee meetings (this is your sign to check out Stanford’s Annual Powwow), the native community dinners, spending time at Muwekma, or even taking naps on the beanbag in the NACC. My fears from summer soon shed into joy that I found a sense of community and belonging away from home.


While this is just my story, community can be found anywhere on campus, be it a dance group, your dorm, your classes, sports, or anything you can really think of. The Native community was just the tip of the iceberg for me. Later in the year, I found communities in the Tour Guides (yes you will probably see me walking backwards around campus) and Stanford’s archery club. So, if you take some time to establish yourself, don’t stress, it’s a process. However, just know that there is a whole world waiting to welcome you at Stanford!


With flove (shout out to the FloMo residents),
Antonio Vega

Published by approachingstanford

Just a bunch of fun Orientation Coordinator friends doing Orientation Coordinating things.

Leave a comment